As seen by me...

By GrantR

Big Bridge and Big Dipper

The weather conditions tonight are odd to say the least. With the heavy fog over the west of the city I headed to South Queensferry to get some foggy shots of the bridges disappearing into the fog. When I got there, stood on the Hawes Pier seriously, you couldn't see the rail bridge, the fog was really that thick. You couldn't even see a light from the road bridge either.

By the time I was setup through, the fog had started to clear, 10 minutes later it was clear as a bell. Not quite what I wanted.

At that point the stars were quite bright so I went for this shot of the Big Dipper above the bridge. Got it in one single exposure and brought the stars out with a few curves adjustments in Photoshop. Really quite pleased with this to be honest, it's very bright at the pier so had to pick a spot carefully. Almost worth the horror of the A90 in thick fog getting down there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.