send me back to the wild!

By davidpritchard

Peck House


I've driven past this building a few times before, and it always manages to catch my attention. There is a fair bit of dereliction around this area of Rotherham (just around the corner from the KP Nut factory), and it's in stark contrast to the area around the college, which is gradually seeing some modern development.

I should confess that it didn't look this clear today. The sky was very washed out, and it was drizzling, and I used this to see if I could convincingly improve the weather. I'll let the readers be the judge of that.

It did remind me of one of the major advantages of a superzoom lens though. When it's raining, you' d normally risk damaging the internals of your camera by changing lenses. With a range like the Tamron 18-270, this isn't a concern. I just throw a rag over the zoom when shooting to prevent water getting in through the telescoping sections. I've done this a few times over the last couple of months, and so far, the lens elements have remained free of moisture.

Nikon D300; Tamron 18-270mm @ 42mm; ISO 400; F/7.1; 1/125s. VC on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.