SarahSmith

By SarahSmith

I can't think, therefore...

Day one of the essay struggle.

I'm writing about David Hume's 'Of Personal Identity' specifically in relation to memory and I'm going to illustrate it with the work of Chino Otsuka. Anyone familiar with Hume's philosophical theories (from 'A Treatise of Human Nature' 1739) will appreciate that he ultimately discounts memory as being the basis for the self or identity. I think I'm going to attempt to argue that memory does have it's place - according to Freud, Locke and others... but it's day one so plenty of time for cul-de-sacs.

Advice/direction/ideas for development always appreciated!

(It's far from a great image, but if I get the blip out of the way I can continue to work... in theory!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.