Life Hurts

Life hurts when there are more "to do's" than "can do's". Lately, I've had trouble sorting out the things in my mind that are overwhelming and my body has been giving me signals that something's got to give. That's when I get out my "God Can" book and begin writing the things that are way too big for me, but that I believe God can handle.

Between my own 'normal' stresses and work to be done, there is an excessively high level of concerns and discouragements in the world right now...and some very serious problems in many of the lives around me, both in my work and personal life. Caring until it hurts becomes a problem...but even worse, I could no longer keep track of what was bothering me.

As I wrote...and wrote...and wrote, for the first time, I had filled 4 pages with bullet sentences of things that felt too huge for me. Yep, it's still true, when it rains, it pours. This led me to the conclusion, that I'm glad that God is efficient. We are going to walk through so many things at the same time that I won't be able to control much of the outcome at all. It is so hard to look into the eyes of hurting people and want with all your heart to meet their needs, but to have to remind yourself over and over again that it's their life, you didn't cause what is happening to them, you are only a small part of the comfort they will receive while they face their Goliath. Once in a great, great while, we are appointed to be the rock in the sling that finishes him off, but still, we have no control over that...we are just willing to be tossed into the mix and slung through time and space where we hit the mark through very little effort of our own.

It is still true...sometimes just 'being there' and being willing is all we can do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.