That Will Do!

By flumgummery

Colour On A Dull Day

I noticed this morning that the leaves are starting to fall so took this while there is still some colour on the tree.

It is a hybrid copper beech which I grew from seed, picked up on a country walk several years ago, along with a common beech, an oak and a horse chestnut. The last two had to be removed as the garden isn't big enough for any of them but I was loath to lose them all and have kept the beeches. They have to be kept trimmed and this was cut back this year so is a bit out of shape, there is also a gap where I've cut branches back to stop the squirrels jumping onto the birdfeeder. It gives us good colour in Spring and Autumn, even on a drizzly day like today, and conveniently disguises the telegraph pole behind.

I may not be able to post for the next few days but I'll back-blip when I can. We're travelling to the Midlands to catch up with my family (via Penruddock to buy the winter's supply of birdfood) then pottering home at the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.