In Brief, for once...

By JaxI

Red Tape

Had to go to the local ward office today to apply for a new gaijin registration card. As usual the picture is bloody awful.

An absolute first time experience in 20 years was that the lady who processed my application was lovely and polite and helpful. I have always found the staff at the desk at best defensive from the start. Sometimes downright patronizing. As at the immigration office, I'm sure they do meet with some nightmare people and situations on a regular basis, but that is no excuse for being rude to everyone who comes along. So I was happy to have my faith restored.

The bad news is that they are changing the rules, so I will have to back in 3 years instead of 5.
The good news is that I will only have to put up with the god awful photo for 3 years instead of 5.

Next: driving license renewal. Birthdays lead to beaurocracy....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.