Gipsy Threads

By GillShaddick

Baltimore, Co Cork and magic isles

I've spent a few days touching the islands of West Cork. I returned from Cape Clear Island yesterday. It is the nearest inhabited island to the Fastnet Rock & Lighthouse. Sheer magic. Got back to my hostel in the little Irish seaside village of Baltimore for the night and this morning looked out to a dank, gloomy day.

"I'll head for Cork" I said to the cat, because in the hostel where I was staying there was no-one but me and the cat. "I have a flight on Friday to London and there will be indoor galleries and warm pubs." I explained. He agreed, warm is good, and we parted.

Ireland does not wake up early. I walked in the drizzle down the empty streets to the Harbour. But as I stood, a little chilly, waiting for the bus, the
sky was definitely brightening and a little orange ferry was coming in from
Sherkin Island which is only a ten minute ride away across the bay. I stood there. Bus.....ferry.......bus.........ferry. Ferry won.

Nothing was open on the island and no-one about, but the sunshine welcomed me. I stashed my backpack behind a drystone wall and I spent happy hours walking the island over. There was scarlet Fuchsia in the hedgerows, a silver strand of sand in the sunshine, the noble ruin of a 15th century Franciscan Abbey and of course, endless snatches of sea, rocks and islands. Gulls for company, cows noted my passing and it turned into a glorious sunny day.

I took this photo at the bus stop once the ferry had deposited me back to Baltimore....................waiting for the bus to Cork!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.