Golden geese

Grey clouds and light rain greeted me as I looked out of the window at the crack of dawn - another dreary November day. I agreed to drive Alex to Huntingdon as he was feeling very tired (he's never been very good at sleeping soundly) but rather regretted the decision as conditions on the A1 were murky, with poor visibility. I think it may be the train for him tomorrow!

I returned as soon as I had dropped him off - no prospect of getting side-tracked by glorious sunrises or low morning light. Then it was a quick tidy round before our computer guy came for the regular health checks on our machines. I finally got around to ordering a new, powerful desktop computer for my photographic work and to keep the South Lincolnshire plant record on - so now I've just got to sort out a space to put it, and possibly re-decorate, all by November 22nd.

While the computers were being sorted I finished making the Christmas cake which cooked slowly for over four hours. Luckily it came out perfectly despite me taking the dogs out and forgetting to tell Pete to listen for the buzzer! But as the sun had finally come out after three days of gloom, I felt I had to make a break for freedom.

The dogs and I had a good walk round Ferry Meadows. I had a lovely chat with an elderly couple who stopped me to ask whether I was a professional photographer - I was quite taken aback! I had too many photographs to choose from - what with the sun sinking slowly over the water and a glorious yellowish moon rising. I finally chose this one because I liked the sky and the way the geese were encircled by a pool of light - but other near misses were:

Golden clouds over Lynch Lake

Geese on Gunwade Lake

Seagull silhouette

Moonrise over Bluebell Wood



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.