I spy with my little eye

By roaminaround

Pride from the past

I dropped the kids at school and took myself for an early morning walk in the Peel Park. The day hadn't decided which way to go yet sun,rain, happily it decided on sun for a change.
I used to wander about this park when I was wee, Mum would walk up to the William Patrick library (gifted to the town by the very man, now a residential house). I use to run over to the iron railing and stare at a Roman "hole" in the ground, willing a legion of Roman soldiers to march out of the ether, sadly the railings and the hole are gone.
The fountain was gifted the the town by Ex Baillie Hudson in 1905. It looks over a fantastic vista of the campsie hills and surrounding land.
The Perry Bandstand in the background was donated by Baillie David Perry in 1905 was used for decades by the Kirkintilloch silver band, it was produced locally at the world famous Lion foundry (check your road stanks and iron work as well as old red telephone boxes).
It's becoming apparent in days gone by local officials had a pride in their community and cherished and cared for it as well as giving to the people who lived and worked there. They took a pride in their home town.


Lessons can be learned from the past.................

Enjoy your day folks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.