Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Local Celebrity Heron

The heron is certainly attracting a following. I spotted him/her for the first time on Tuesday in Maxwell Park.

I went back today, to find it being fed bits of trout and prawns by a cyclist, who is now its best friend. Every day for the last week, the bird has come over to him as soon as he sits on a seat beside the pond, as it knows he has food. Several park walkers gathered around snapping away with mobile phones. I got so much closer, that beak is like a dagger.

I also managed to get most of the ring number on its leg, so have sent the info to Euring. It will be interesting to see where it was born etc when I get a reply. I am really surprised at its willingness to come so near to people.

SF

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.