Five-Oh-Oh, Time to Go!

This is what a good friend used to say when the clock struck 5:00 pm, and it was quittin' time :-) With a three day weekend ahead, few people wasted any time getting in their cars and heading out for a long weekend.

I'm sort of backwards....shush...and I often dread the end of a work day, wishing to accomplish just one more thing...or two...or three. I love to get closure, complete things, and feel a sense of ..tah dah!!!...when the week is done. While I did leave the office with many things still on my 'to do' list for next week, I did have quite a sense of relief. Last night, as I crawled in to bed, I thanked God for the sleep that was about to bring restoration to my body. To the healing that happens while we rest. When I awoke, I thanked Him for the new mercies, and I truly felt them. It was a very different kind of day, perspective restored, stomach...just fine! Yay!! Happy again, and ready face things head on, able to be kind and full of hope, able to laugh again.

I don't know where such intense cathartic seasons come from, but I'm always happy to see them go. It's a good feeling to get things off our chest, out of our minds, and set them aside so that we can press on, all fresh and clean. The problems are still out there, but I'm able to trust again... that everything really will work out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.