What happened today?

By scottworld

Prog at The Caley

Musical genius Mikael Akerfeldt wonders why he is trapped inside a square photograph.

Opeth played a lot from the new record "Heritage", and avoided any songs that have "growl" or "metal" vocals.

Nothing from Blackwater Park? I expected to hear Wreath, The Leper Affinity, The Drapery Falls or Bleak, but no...nowt.

I liked him introducing the band. When introducing Martin Axenrot on drums, he said "I remember when the band was almost falling apart and I needed a new drummer. I called Martin and said "Hi, it's Mikael and I'd like you to be the drummer in Opeth."

The response was "Can I call you back, my house in on fire."

"In the years since I have never worked out why he picked up the call in the first place."

Mikael has quite a dry sense of humour.

Oh important boring fact: Great to see a fave band in the venue that I saw Star Wars in, oh about 34 years ago...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.