Henryfish

By henryfish

Tokyo fish market

Today I got up at 6 a.m. to be at Tokyo's famous fish market by 6.45, which, according to the guide books, is open for visitors
at 5 a.m. Not so any more, it turns out- partly due to the earthquake, and partly to irritating tourists getting in the way of the traders (not that the lovely security guard would phrase it like that) the market now only permits tourists to visit from 9 a.m. onwards. So I found myself, at 7 a.m. and with a little time on my hands, queuing in the pouring rain for a sushi restaurant outside the market itself. Possibly the best sushi I've ever had- even given the unusual time of day to be eating it- and the market was worth the wait: a whole host of strange fish and sea creatures provided a feast for my camera, if not my stomach...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.