Late night castle

Back blip:

Working at home was a trial. Cats wouldn't stay off the keyboard and dogs wouldn't stop scratching. All were banished so that I could get something done. The a friend popped in so I had to stop for a coffee break. Not so good at taking time due. When something needs done, it needs done, so it was nice to see her.

Anyway, left for Edinburgh to go to the HMV picture house just after 5. Took ages but made it there just in time to see Pain of Salvation coming on stage. Followed up by Opeth, both bands were smoking. Could have murdered the punters at the back though. I mean why do you go to a gig to talk? Normally not really an issue in metal, but Opeth played a very smooth set with lots of quiet passages. You could hear ever word the numpties at the back said. Then there was the guy in front of me (taller of course - but then most people are) who insisted on recording the whole thing on his phone. Every time his left arm got tired he held the stupid thing out on the right and into my line of sight. Grrr.

On the upside, the security company is definitely a cut above in Edinburgh. I was asked if they could see inside my bag twice and when I said it had already been done the girl apologised profusely to me. If I'd been in Glasgow they would probably have taken it off me and patted me down just to make sure I wasn't carrying anything dangerous like a Mars Bar or a packet of chewing gum. (That's only partly i jest - I did have to throw the two offending items away before they would let me into the Cathouse a year or two ago).

The crowd were a bit reserved though. The band actually had to encourage them to headbang. When Ackerfeldt actually asked them to do it some hands went up in the air. He then pointed to the person that he thought should be given the job!

Anyway, the daughter had a good time, the man had a good time, his mate had a good time and I quite enjoyed myself too. So all in all not too shabby.

Took this image as we left the car park in Castle Terrace. Not much time for anything else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.