fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Restful reflections and Remembrances

I have been very moved by several blips today in remembrance of Armistace Day and our Veterans. Poppies and photographs of loved ones who went to war, ones who were left to wait behind....sometimes for those who would never return, some lost from illnesses in war times, many permanently disabled. For me one very sad memory of post Vietnam war days was the suicide of a family friend's son who had served as a marine and was so haunted and damaged from the war he hung himself. There are so many many stories we all personally can understand and share either about veterans we knew or lost or otherwise affected us in both good and bad ways. Today and tonight I reflect on them. I have letters from my Father and my Uncle from WWII . Some are mostly personal to a relative or my mom or a family member. Some describe horrors of war. Some go into detail about some families they met and grew to know overseas. All very sobering in many way. We need to take care of those who now are returning from one war or another...make sure we care for their health needs and job needs and fully embrace them back into our lives. Maybe this image doesn't make sense but somehow seeing Cowboy at rest here and at peace just made sense.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.