Runhills

By Runhills

Full Moon

Full Moon! that's what my friend Stewart said, why don't we go for a run on Bowland instead of doing circuit training? (our usual Friday night treat)

We both knew what the weather forecast was but tried to kid our selves that we would be round the planned route before the worst of the rain arrived.

Stewart picked me up at 6pm in a light drizzle and we drove to Fell Foot where it was dry, we had beaten the weather front. A quick gear up and off we went, before we reached the top of Parlick we were in cloud, not a moon to be seen, to make it worse the beam from my head torch was bouncing back from the cloud so I ended up carrying it below my waist (fog light principle). As we climbed to the high point, known to us as 1707, that was in old money, it is marked as 521 metres on maps now, we were getting quite wet and had to keep moving to keep warm.

I had taken a bearing that should take us to the next objective but the ground at this point is deep peat hags and we found it hard to stick to the bearing, that led to doubt setting in and we wandered about until we were totally disorientated.

Luckily we stumbled across a fence, (and breathed a sigh of relief) but which fence was it? we followed it for a while until checking the compass we realised we were going in the opposite direction to which we wanted. about turn once again and we made it back to 1707, only we were on the North side of the fence coming at it from from an unusual direction. We decided to abandon our plan and get back to the car so sticking to the fence line we got back.

The ground we were on was all familiar but it was sobering to think that we had been 'lost' within yards of somewhere we visit on a weekly basis!!

My blip is of Stewart adjusting his head torch and saying "Please put that camera away, I want to go for a pint" :)

I almost forgot to add that this is image 9999 on my camera, I wondered what would happen and I discovered it has reset to 0001, I must have a look at the settings to see if I can change the letters in front of it so that I don't get in a mess with duplicate images.

It must be a coincidence as my car has reached 99,000 + miles, I am waiting for it to turn over the 100k mark, I might force the family into coming out for a drive or perhaps I will blip it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.