understandings

By Daystarimages

Ten Sheqel Days

Ten Sheqel Days.....
Back in 1987 when I first came to Israel at a word from the Lord, I ran out of money at a certain point. I remember it almost as if it were yesterday. I was volunteering at a Christian organization as a photographer for the Feast of Tabernacles which is an eight day event and I was down to my last ten sheqels. I was on my way to the local supermarket to see what I could get that might last me a while. As I walked along, I saw this beggar in the street and felt a strong word from God that I should give this man five sheqels. I fought this urge only for a moment but as I passed the man, I dropped five sheqels into his hand. Knowing that I am not going to get much in the store with five sheqels, I was very careful about what I bought. I went up to the counter to pay and when I reached into my pocket, I had ten sheqels. Shocked, I paid and still had five left. I must have had fifteen to start with, I thought and somehow five had got caught in a fold or something.
The next day, was a repeat of the day before as the Lord told me again to give another beggar the five sheqels I had but when I reached into my pocket there was ten. This happened daily for three weeks. I ate skimpily but I ate. I know that in that period of time, I gave away around fifty or seventy-five sheqels and spent the same amount on food. I have no idea how this happened or how God was able to do this but I know it happened. I have seen so many ways that God has given me the provision necessary for life.
The end of the ten Sheqel story is that I received a check in the mail, from a person in England, for fifty pounds sterling. I had never met this person but someone I had sent a newsletter to in the states had sent it to this person in England and they had shared it with their congregation which then had taken up a collection for me. The day I received the check was the day the ten sheqels story ended.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.