Photos of things I see

By Aboak

Route canal

I cycled along the canal today with my son to see a rugby match at Meggetland - home of the Boroughmuir Bears, who I think are the third XVs for Boroughmuir RFC.

It wasn't my idea to go - four year olds have a tendency for random and spontaneous trip suggestions - but this was one I was more than happy to facilitate.

I do hope his sudden interest in rugby persists. If he turns out anything like his dad, he'll make a decent prop. The game itself was a corker for home fans. All 40-odd of us cheered in a host of tries as they ran up a convincing 71-10 victory over Edinburgh Accies.

We left at half time as young Jim's patience ran out and wanted to go on his bike again.

The canal is a great traffic-free artery to the west of Edinburgh. There's so much to see en route, and some great play parks for the kids to pop into.

This scene is familiar to a lot of local blippers I'm sure, but one which provides endless enjoyment to those who pass along the canal. So many people today feeding the ducks.

Heading back home, I noticed someone setting up a tripod by Leamington Lift Bridge. She looked like she knew what she was doing with a camera, unlike me, so hope the shot turned out fine. Perhaps another blipper?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.