The one that got away..

When I saw these two chaps they were oblivious to the 30 or so people taking a light lunch and preparing for the afternoon drive. All the hours that Mellors and his team put in during the spring and summer breeding both partridge and pheasant, now come into their own.

Make no mistake shooting is big business round here.

My own views on driven game are mixed, but the best thing is that a lot of the men wear moleskin trousers or plus fours. Moleskin is not actually made from little furry underground creatures, it is an extremely tactile type of brushed cotton.

Let it be known, MOLESKIN does it for me... big time.

Last year in October I met a guy involved with a shoot. For our first date we went for lunch at a delightful country pub quite some way away from here. We had just ordered, when to my horror one of the 'Bitch Pack' walked in with her mum, her sister and her daughter!

"Hi Mandy" she said walking towards me, then, she clocked my lunch partner and did a double take.
"This is an old friend of mine" I said, thinking there is absolutely no way I'm letting the Bitch Pack know I'm on a first date!!
Worse still the ladies were shown to the table right next to us, and with banquette seating, it meant I was sitting closer to my friend than my date!! What a hoot. Bless her, she half turned her back to me and talked ernestly with her family.

My date and I had to interact as if we had known each other for ever, and he was brilliant, the conversation flowed and we got on really well. Within an hour of leaving the pub my phone was going bonkers, the Bitch Pack were on the scent, but I kept to my story of him being an old friend. I'm useless at lying face to face but on that occasion I think I lied rather well in text format.
He asked me on a second date which was ok by me until he said:
" I'm not going to be able to see you until the end of February. "

"What not for four months, are you going away?"

"No it's the shooting season."

"So you've got absolutely no free days or evenings between now and February?"

Oh yes, he wanted me to take second place to a few old birds.


I'm sure you can guess how this ended!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.