A minute's silence.... perhaps not quite!

I wasn't sure we'd make it to the Remembrance service today - yesterday was wet, windy and cold - but today dawned bright and sunny (still windy and cold) and I managed to get D and I ready to go, and the cats fed in time, so off we went. Central Baku is lovely and quiet at 10:15 on a Sunday morning so parking near the Kapelhaus was easy! I sat near the door with D just in case but he behaved very well - no crying, just a few excited 'da's and squawks when the bagpipes stopped for the minutes silence - I think he was encouraging them to continue playing. That or he wanted to make his own contribution to the service! Anyway, a man in uniform - to whom I'd defer on such matters - said that he thought it was nice when babies came to such events and spoke up - it linked the old and the young, the past and the future.

We went to a reception afterwards at the Ambassador's residence (D got lots of hugs and enjoyed trying to steal poppies and chew medals!). Didn't make it to the war memorial for the wreath laying ceremony - it was D's lunch and nap time and I didn't wanted to push my luck. So here's my photo from last year (D hadn't yet been born so it was a bit easier to get about!)

I'm cheating a bit with this photo... I put the poppy on D once at home and he hadn't noticed it at this point. I tried to get a photo of him holding it too, but mostly got photos of him chewing it before I decided that it was probably better to take it away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.