Cats, lace and life

By Lazydaisy25

My Great Uncle William Munson RIP

This is the portrait of my great uncle, a young miller from Suffolk, who fought in the middle east during the great war. He survived all sorts of traumas only to die in Cairo on 2 January 1919 aged 23 from cholera while waiting for a boat home. No one from his family has ever visited his grave. I have all the paperwork, his medals and diary. The picture hangs over my stairs so I see him daily. The cross stitch picture below is of the beautiful watermill he left to go and fight. It the the most beautiful and peaceful place I know. My mother's family were millers here for 3 generations only ending when there was no longer work for a grist mill and my uncle's back gave out in 1960. The mill is still intact with all it's working parts. I recall being shown the mill wheel during that very cold winter of 1961 a layer of ice 2 inches thick on the water wheel. Memories......... wishing I was in silly Suffolk today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.