Pffft!

So, to explain some of last week's discombobulation...

I went to buy a new iPhone from 3 (who were my mobile provider) and was refused (refused!) because I failed the credit check (failed!). I was very indignant and rather bemused by this - I'm nothing if not a good bet, and I was a current customer (note past tense). Never missed a payment for anything, no overdraft since I left uni.

Thankfully the nice people at Phones4U decided I wasn't too much of a credit risk for them, so I was able to get my new phone. And I also spent an evening finding out more about my data on the 3 main credit reference sites. This is a photo of my info on Experian, which kind of shows that 3 were mistaken - the score ranges from 0 to 999 with 0 being 'don't even lend this person the bus fare home' and 999 being 'she's totally good for it'.

I have absolutely no idea why this happened to me - might have been something to do with my strange address or the fact that I changed jobs earlier this year. But it shook me up, to be honest, which wasn't very nice at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.