Allotmenteers

We listened to the ceremony at the Cenotaph this morning (only switching off when it turned religious) - I had forgotten how moving the music is, particularly Dido's Lament. Even though it was instrumental only, those high notes sing out over the ground bass: "Remember me. Remember me. But, ah, forget my fate." I found an classic version by Janet Baker on Youtube, but there's also Jeff Buckley who makes the hairs stand up on the back of my neck. I was thinking about DH's uncle Gilbert who went down on his ship in the north Atlantic, my auntie Edith who died of the Spanish flu, my uncle Frank who was wounded at Gallipolli and what my grandmothers must have gone through. And remembering my pal Roger who died in Bluff Cove in the Falklands.

Later on we headed up to the allotment; to my surprise the last sunflower was still blooming, even though it had decided to have a little lie down beside the hedge. However, you were spared yet another sunflower blip due to us bumping into family Man, Mountain or Fish. It was nice to see them, looking very cheery as you can see!

Hmm, only just got my breath back but yet another busy week coming up....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.