The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Barking

The dog racing across the mudflats of Morecambe Bay as the sun was setting brought to mind the great NZ blipper Barking and her Hungarian Viszla, Cousteau. A different kind of dog, but something about the exuberance and the coastal location triggered the thought.

This was a sunset that fizzled out as the sun disappeared into a thick bank of cloud that was hugging the horizon, so the haring hound adding some dynamic interest was a blessing. Wifie and I went down to see the sunset from Jack Scout after a cup of coffee and a cake at Wolf House.

Otherwise it was a quiet day for catching up with those things that need doing. I was out early again, but as with the sunset, the sunrise was blanketed by horizon cloud. Nevertheless, I went on to my favourite place at the moment, Dallam Park near Milnthorpe. This place is a gift to anyone interested in photography - lone trees on hills, a reflecting river, birds, fallow deer, ridge and furrow etc. What's more, the sun comes up from behind the hill giving great silhouettes . I've posted a photo of silhouetted deer and geese on Flickr.

For those who have sent good wishes, my Dad is now back at home after his stay in hospital and sounds to be on good form. He does read these blips, so was heartened by all the messages of goodwill.

Many thanks for all the stars, hearts and comments on yesterday's sunset over Morecambe Bay. Forgive me if I haven't yet thanked you for them, time is too short. I know that I am also being a poor subscriber in keeping up with my blip friends. Thanks for bearing with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.