such a perfect day

Left home at 6.15 this morning to drive over to Northampton to pick up the minibus taking us and the other members of the Royal Pioneer Ass. down to London.
After we had been dropped off in Trafalgar Sq. we made our way round to Horse Guards. Knowing you had to have a pass to get on there, my husband asked Norman if he had a spare, otherwise I would have had to make my way round to Whitehall and the get stuck amongst 1000`s of like minded people and hope for the best when it came to getting photographs.
So it was I ended up standing on Horse Guards Parade with all those taking part in the Rememberance service.
Once they had lined up to march out onto Whitehall, I made my way across the road with Paul, the official photographer and we picked our place. Felt quite smug when asked by a Superintendent what we where doing there and being able to show my pass.
It was a long wait after they had all marched out, onto Whitehall, past the Cenotaph and then back round to Horse Guards where I managed to take a fair few photos of the various Regiments and groups.
We met up with the lads and went to the Civil Service club on Great Scotland Yard for a drink and a bite to eat.
Had a fantastic day...albeit a long one. My first time ever to the Cenotaph but I`ll definitely be back there again next year. It was an honour and a privilege to be amongst those men and women...proper heroes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.