world outside your window

By thewanderlust

Message in a Bottle

well, choosing to go for an hour's run at midday when at 6pm it's still 37 degrees was possibly slightly silly. Mad dogs and Englishmen?

However, I did get to see a mermaid!! This enormous bottle on the seacliffs is (you guessed it If you've been following my journal) another exhibit from Sculpture by the Sea. It also has an AR (augmented reality) feature so that when you point your smartphone's camera at the message, a mermaid is meant to appear. Now I've tried this three times previously and nada. But today, she appeared! A bit gutted as I thought that the photo would save on my phone but it didn't. Ah well - you can imagine the beautiful mermaid for yourselves.

This is a tribute to two bronze mermaid sculptures which once sat on the rocks at Ben Buckler, the peninsula on the north side of bondi beach. In 1974 heavy seas washed away one of the mermaids, 'lynette', never to be found. The remains of the other 'Jan' became a museum piece. As part of this sculpture, a petition has been set up to reinstate the sculptures.

With or without the mermaid, it's a fun sculpture which attracts alot of attention on the path.

A week today I start my new job - no more fun daytime stuff for me then ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.