Keep Right...

I sometimes wonder about the genesis of everyday things. Things that you just see in the world that are just there. Something like dry stone walls which just seem to be there but there is someone in the world that could say, "I did that."

These signs just appeared on our stairwells a couple of weeks back. I think they're brilliant as they solidify unwritten stair usage etiquette that lets people specifically going down the stairs, go down the outside of the spiral staircases. The inside of the spiral staircases is rather thin and a bit iffy going down. It does rather irk me when people go the outside forcing people descending to use the inside thinner steps.

Anyway, I was in a position where I could easily contact the building manager about how these signs came into being. I found out that it wasn't any legislation change or an incident but that there had been some notes from 'irked' users getting annoyed by people using the stairs as above. It's a bit of a waste of money, but I like the thinking behind it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.