"Just one of those days"

By LesleyAnneLaw

Carry 10

Playing maths teacher with our daughter 2night ( well its also homework, but bringing a little fun) some days she really struggles with the simplest of sums then others she flys through, tonight she did great and I was really impressed. After she had give me a few long numbers to add up I thought I'd give her a long one, she 7 and only used to the 17+ 12= sort of sum.

" I can't do that" came the reply, but after my simple working from adding the last number instruction she understood, that was until we got to the adding of the 7 and 4 I then had to explain the carry 10 of the 11 forward, to my surprise she got it....well until next time she did, but you never know.

Today I did my helping out at school again, I am really enjoying it, more silver stars cutting out for the nativity back drop, and also re designed the phonics display board, that was a bit more challenging than it sounds.

It's still dull and damp here in Yorkshire but at least it's not raining or snowing. X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.