The Halloween Nor'Easter

We lost our power at 6:30 a.m. We were told to expect it, and we were prepared. We also lost four large limbs from four of our big oaks, but fortunately, nothing fell on the house. When we got back last night, we saw trees bent completely down to the ground. During the night I heard a couple of loud cracks, like gunshots, and I'm sure those were trees breaking.

First thing this morning, my daughter wanted to put on her snow clothes and go play. The novelty lasted about 3 minutes for me. I only ventured outside to get more firewood to stoke the fire. My daughter and I sat in front of the fire the rest of the day and read books, while my husband (a volunteer firefighter) was out putting out tree fires from downed lines. Definitely not a run-of-the-mill Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.