Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

First day of preschool

So I could Blip the images shortly before he walked through the door of him clad in a dapper velvet jacket, but this one somewhat summed up the fun day he had.

A small class of just 5 kids today as the school's in the early stages. I hope it'll all work out fine, will meet the few expectations we have, we'll see hey. I often have to curb my enthusiasm (;-)) for education, simply because Reuben set the bar so high and remember they're still little boys. I then balance that with thinking, if they're ever ready for learning, reading and such, then give it to them. The brain is a muscle and needs working out. It'll be a challenge moving away from the solid structure at UCLA which absolutely worked for us. Meanwhile at home, Reuben's still off school with the view to returning tomorrow. Today he had a further opinion on his neck that perhaps we can indeed wait and see, that is is stable currently. I absolutely hope and pray that the ghastly surgery will be avoided. Upon our return, he started reading Ten Apples Up On Top rather well, til his eyes started dropping.

I was thinking tonight once again about my 3 years with the boys at UCLA school, missing the familiarity and space in the corridors, all the wonderful faces of the teachers, mums and dads, the kiddies. Gosh if I really think about the significance of having left, I'll just cry. Too sentimental now...

Having stayed up til beyond 3am editing images from shoots, I was a little worse for wear this morning, but thankfully Callum was on the afternoon school session. Check out yesterday's Blip if you can. I quite simply love it.

I'm wondering if three of my oldest and right up there best pals conspired together... Erica, Steph & Anne from university days. Is there anything lovelier than instantly recognising handwriting that you've known for 25 years? Did they all conspire together to make me feel special for my upcoming birthday, because they succeeded? Thank you so much girls. I know you're not social networkers, which probably accounts for the fact that you still know how to send a birthday card. I know I'm eternally bad at the niceties of life right now, birthdays now succumbing to that, but their persistence with me means a great deal.

42.. your time is numbered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.