Photos of things I see

By Aboak

On the other side of The Pond

The Pond is a well-known boozer in this part of Leith. I used to assume it was a dodgy establishment given its particular location near the docks, a scrapyard and where some ladies of the night are known to frequent.

But in actual fact, The Pond is a delightful establishment where many fine ales can be sampled. A friendly welcome awaits.

It occupies the ground floor of this block of flats I've photographed today on my lunchtime blip-hunt.

What I didn't realise until today is that on the other side of the block in which it resides are remnants of a former adjoining tenement which must've collapsed a long time ago.

I don't know the story. Perhaps bomb damage during the War, or something more mundane?

Anyway, not a terribly interesting blip today but it just goes to show what lurks around the corner...

*** Edited original blip to bring out deeper contrast ***

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.