El Camino

By AndrewForbes

The price of a bargain

I had to run a few errands today and so I stopped for a moment to have a coffee on the beach; the cool sea breeze reminding me it was autumn.

No one was on the beach, yet the beach vendors were persevering, walking up and down the shore in front of the chiringuitos.

Today's blip is a sale being made; but I am not sure the buyer realises their role in the complex chain that encompasses the manufacture of the illegal handbag copies in the far east in sweatshops; the organised gangs in Spain that distribute them; and the poorly paid beach vendors who are typically vulnerable 'sin papeles'; African illegal immigrants, many of whom came to Europe in appalling conditions on boats from Senegal.

A sad scene I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.