Chris M

By chrism

Bridget

This is a stalwart of the village. There are several. When I met her she was on her knees in front of the church hoiking out lavender that was past it. Bridget seems to be charming and hilarious without, seemingly, being aware of either of these things. I learned of her shooting crows from her bedroom window, how the 2nd world war bullet hole in the weathercock on top of the church was discovered via a bolt of lightning going into somebodies kitchen window, through the top of her head and out of the kitchen to hit the house opposite. (Following me so far?) I learned of the apparent lack of generosity of the duke of Roxburgh, where the swallows nest in the church, How the devoted Anne Smith always rested at the top of the hill on her way to church, how . . .etc.
Her catch phases seem to be "Not my scene" and "knicker knackered" as in "the stonework was completely . . ." Unusually I didn't learn her age. ( I can tell you the ages of all the ladies I have met so far in this pretty village). I do know, however, that she is 5 feet 11and 3/4 inches tall. I would have said nearer 6 feet actually.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.