David J. Rose

By djrose007

RAF Leeming Gate Guard

The blip is of the Gloster Javelin all weather interceptor/fighter from the old cold war days. Pertinent because we live in Gloucester and that is where the Javelin was designed, tested and built for the RAF.

Today our Julia was 'clearing' from RAF Leeming and will be joining her new unit next week. So, I went up to help her pack her stuff into the cars and bring it all back to Gloucester, she can sort it out for her new posting.

Of course, when I got there I was greeted with:
Julia - 'Why have you brought your car, I've got a fridge to take back' !!!!
Me - 'Because you told me we didn't need Mum's Rover 25 and I could bring my MX-5'
Julia - 'Oh no I didn't say that'
Me - 'Oh yes you did'
Julia - 'Oh no I didn't'
I was waiting for someone to shout 'It's behind you', it was like being at a pantomime!

Anyway, she was right in that we didn't have space for the Fridge and so it was left with a friend of hers to keep gratis.

It was a longish trip, both ways in one day, but I do love driving my car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.