The new Market Hall, Penistone

This amazing structure is the new market hall, built in 2010. It is possibly the largest oak-framed structure built in this country for several hundred years.

It's a wonderful building, though it was a little dark and gloomy for photography today. Indeed the locals have criticised it for being dark and gloomy and also very windy (it blows things off the stalls)! The Farmers Market is held here, as is the weekly Saturday Market, and it's also been used for Folk Events.

I needed to visit the bank today and shop. In total contrast there's a newly opened Tesco supermarket at the other end of the car-park in one of those prefabricated sheds! I also dropped my tyre off to be repaired (I hope they can, it was new this time last year).

Book group tonight. Again it conflicts with the photography club but I think it's the book groups turn.

p.s. One year ago we were walking around the northern edge of Lake Tuggerah and avoiding the gloom of a UK November. I think I'v just been reminded that November is a good time to leave this country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.