Landing on a bed of bubbles...

It's been a quiet but productive day - a bit more decorating followed by lot's of report writing. After another grey start, the sun came out at lunchtime, and I made a break for the river.

Wildlife was fairly sparse - though I saw and heard a greater spotted woodpecker and the wasps were still busy on the ivy. I also briefly saw two dabchicks on the river - the first for some time. I'd love to get a good photograph of them but they're very shy and mostly lurk at the edges under the overhanging vegetation.

Of course there were plenty of swans, Canade geese and gulls on the Rowing Lake. I caught this black-headed gull just as it came into land - creating a swathe of bubbles in the process.

I'm off to finish tea now, and then to collect Alex from the station. He had to give a short presentation today, which he wasn't looking forward to. I think our family are naturally quiet observers and being forced into the limelight doesn't really come naturally to any of us!!

I'm sorry that my commenting's been a bit haphazard - I just don't seem to have much time at the moment! Thanks to all who still continue to comment on my offerings, even when I don't manage to reciprocate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.