accidental awesome

By alexamato

I need to ride my bike more.

Not commuting to work by bike anymore means I don't ride other than for fun, and if the weather's crap, that fun doesn't happen.

Today was a welcome departure from this week's theme of drizzle and grey, and on that note I decided to pack up some camera gear and head out to Portobello (as I've never been before) via Edinburgh's awesome cycle paths.

The light was dwindling by the time I got there, which was good as I wanted less light for some long exposures by the water. After cycling back and forth on the promenade I decide to use this as my "feature".

A word of warning to those who set up a tripod for a long exposure right at the shore's edge.....when those waves come in over your tripod's feet, it will sink right in....not the best thing to have happen on a 30" exposure!

Can any Photoshop experts explain the best way to retain detail in both your shadow and highlights that won't result in a slight halo around the shadows? I edited this image a couple of different ways, and the only way I found to keep really rich, crisp detail in the plinths resulted in a very noticeable halo against the brighter sea/sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.