send me back to the wild!

By davidpritchard

A prior engagement

Ten years ago, I innocently gave a friend a stitch-bound notebook with her favourite poem on the front. She was a little upset, and I wanted to cheer her up. We went our separate ways, and hardly spoke over the next six years.

Four years ago, I came to Yorkshire to visit my friend, and earlier this year, I gave her this engagement ring.

With our trip to Rome now behind us, we can now focus on the details of our wedding. As anyone who's married will know, it's exciting, and also a little intimidating. We have a year and a a half to go until our planned date, but I get the feeling it's going to fly past. I'm now a quarter of the way through this 365 project, so I'm seeing first-hand just how quickly time passes. I can't wait though.

I've spent the best part of this week processing some photos from a wedding I attended last year. The couple are in the process of finalising their own wedding album, and whilst I've been looking through my shots, it's brought a smile to my face to think that I will soon be on the other side of the lens.

I will however, be spending a bit of time behind the lens in the run-up. Next month I'm going to find out how the Tamron 18-270 PZD performs under the pressure of a wedding. I had the offer of first refusal for principle photography at a family wedding, and although I said I'd rather enjoy the day without the added pressures of professionalism, I have promised a few photographs. So it really is make-it-or-break-it for the Tamron, as I've decided not use my usual arsenal of fast lenses. I'm looking forward to it. The Tamron has, thus far, proven itself in every other challenge it's faced from me. If it can cope with a wedding reception, in Scotland, in December (which might as well be the dark side of the moon as far as light levels are concerned), I'll be left in no doubts as to it's capabilities. Watch this space?

Nikon D300; Tamron 18-270mm @ 120mm; ISO 200; F/10; 1/320s. VC on.

Also: Nikon SB-800 speedlight, +3 close-up dipotre

Another macro image of the ring and more information about my current project here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.