Here comes the rain again

Dear Fynn, (Part 2)

Just driving to 'our spot' today, to take this shot, made me tingle.
Do you remember how it always seemed to be pouring with rain and how you laughed and played Here comes the rain again each time?

This is my version of what happened next, I often wonder how it compared to yours.

So, on Thursday evening, I donned my favourite old T shirt and jogging bottoms and headed to the sports centre, not quite sure what to expect. There were about 80 lycra - clad men and women all looking very fit, 'warming up' and doing stretches in the foyer, then the doors to the large hall opened and there you were, Fynn.

You clapped your hands, and everyone immediately paid attention.

"OK let's do it. "

It was an upbeat circuit class, set to very loud music.

The quiet be-suited Clark Kent from the office that I had recently met, took on a whole new Superman persona. Vest and shorts, muscles, a great mover and a fantastic motivator.
One hour of fast and furious exercise starting with a whole class aerobic set, then rotating round 10 x 3 minute work stations, then a final session all together.
I wasn't sure that you had noticed me for the first half hour, but then suddenly you were behind me holding my hips and whispering:
"I didn't think you would come."

The class ended with you shouting,
"Fantastic class. Give yourselves a clap, see you all next week, and I mean all of you ... Especially you Amanda.
"Remember: We don't warm up or down in class, I expect you to do that on your own before and after. No time wasting in my classes"

The very next morning, when I returned to my office after a meeting first thing, there was a pink post it on my desk from my secretary asking me to phone you Fynn.

"Hello, I think I owe you lunch" He said.
"Oh thank you"
"Ahh!! You're with your secretary, you can't talk, can you?
"No"
"I'll meet you at the Black Horse at 12.30."
"OK, thank you. I'll look into it for you. Bye."

I put the phone down and my secretary looked at me.
"Are you all right?" She asked. "You look like you're going to faint."
"Oh, no, I'm fine, just a spot of back-ache."

We had lunch. I remember you expressing your enthusiasm for my efforts at the class. I didn't let on that every muscle was aching.

And so it was that we fell into a gentle rhythm of meeting at lunchtime once a week. We would drive out of town and stop and enjoy the view, from this vantage point, share our sandwiches, then due to time constraints, reluctantly rush back to work.

On Thursdays I continued your circuit class and combined it with lashings of voyeurism. Sometimes you would walk out to the car park with me afterwards. Sometimes, you would tell me your partner was waiting for you...
Of course we talked about the future, but you were 'with somebody'. It was always going to be 'next year' and you wanted to wait. I was happy to bide my time. Surprised, yes, but confident of the future.

As 'next year' wore on, it became apparent that I may have to wait until the next 'next year'.

November, yes, it would have to be November because I'd been at work for a whole year.
Yes, you called me at my home first thing in the morning...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.