Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

My Grandma After a Blood Transfusion

It's only a few weeks away before my aunt, grandma and I go to Arizona to spend Thanksgiving with my other aunt. As preparation, my aunt takes my grandma to the doctor to get a blood transfusion.

My grandma suffers short of breath afterwards and they give her lasix to make her feel better.

My mom and I go to the hospital to see her in the evening. She is seated in a chair, wrapped in blankets. She is content. I take her photo and then show it to her. She laughs and smiles. She says something in Ilocano like, "what will they think or Erning" or "who is that? is that Erning?"

My grandma's birth first name is Ernestina. When she came to American she shortened her name to Ernie. And in Ilocano style, her nick name can be the diminutive, "Erning."

Oh, how few the moments I will see my grandma like this now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.