Act Naturally!

By Arcanics

Rediscovered Home

Until I left Lancaster for stranger climes (I spent some time teaching in the Czech Republic, Southern England and then Thailand) I didn't really appreciate just how picturesque the place could be.

It's not that I wasn't aware of the history; I always found it fascinating. It's just that because it was home I just didn't see it the way perhaps an outsider might.

Now I love taking pictures of Lancaster. I took some much better composed pictures than this today. But the clouds on this one are nicer and the modern block-type structure in the foreground nicely- or not- contrasts with the Ashton, Cathedral and Town Hall.

I will move onto Morecambe soon. Bus fare permitting.

Interestingly I took this from the Marketgate car park, where the attendant asked me if I had permission to take photographs on council property.
"No; I'm just trying to get a few nice snaps to go with an article I'm writing on council employees exceeding their authority." I winked whilst saying this and waited for him to praise my rapier wit.
"Oh," he said. "What's exceeding mean?"

Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.