Life on the sofa - it's a jungle out there

Today has been unexpected.

(PS if you're new to my blips, ignore yesterday's picture and go straight to the one before it!!)

Started off to discover my afternoon date to see pretty Christmas things was cancelled - but that was ok, although disappointed it meant I had an afternoon off to just stop! Then I put two and two together and only got three - Steve had the car, so I couldn't get to my pedicure appointment this morning so had to cancel that as well. Perhaps, in a roundabout sort of way, God is looking after me when I'm not doing such a great job of it myself and making sure I have a little bit of a rest before my body shuts down completely!!

But I managed to get both me and Ben bathed this morning before realising I couldn't go out anyway so we are at least free from building grime and paint specks and have clean hair (Steve got paint on my hair last night!!).

The rest of the morning has been spent opening a mountain of post. Steve checked online and discovered our car was indeed taxed, so I was in the clear on that one at least. But it meant that somewhere in the house was a new tax disk. Probably in its envelope still. I dug out a couple of mountains of unopened post - either from when we had builders in, or from when we were doing the rewire - and spent an hour opening post and discovering all sorts of things. My new photo driving licence among them!! Oops. And Steve's expired passport, and Ben's birth certificate. No tax disk though.

This required thinking. Where had I seen any more unopened envelopes? Ahh... in a box. With a load of other random stuff.

RESULT! Tax disk found, happy me. The very last thing I opened as well!!

So what to do next now that I'd found the tax disk? Ah yes - sort out the two and a half year old problem that was the gas and electricity. To cut a long story short, when we moved house it seems that we were changed from a combined gas & electricity account to separate ones. And we've only been paying for electricity since, thinking that we were still paying for both. We've not had a gas bill at all until this autumn - possibly because for some reason on their system it's been down as a pre-payment meter despite being changed to a normal one before we moved in. So a massive gas bill has landed and we're not impressed! But, since it appears to be their fault, they are doing a review of the whole situation to see how it has managed to get to this point.

That's two very helpful customer service people I've encountered in two days!! First at the DIY store yesterday, and today the gas people. Amazing.

The good stuff of today doesn't stop there though. We have help decorating this evening :0) to see if we can get back on track, or at least close to it, before tomorrow's day Off. (Sort of.)


Ben bless him has been occupied with DVDs all morning.... he keeps coming to see me and cuddle me, but is happy to do his stuff as long as he knows I'm here and open for cuddles!

He's also surprised me by asking for cold porridge. I pondered this, then remembered we had some weetabix things so I showed him how to make cold porridge from weetabix. He likes it. This is a surprise! He had two for lunch, and an apple. The boy is actually quite a healthy eater, despite his fondness for icing and cake and chocolate.


This afternoon is a choice between going to the supermarket on the bus, or doing a bit of sizing. Ben wants to put his dusty clothes on so it may well be painting that gets done. (Speaking of which, we put the rollers through the washing machine last night (after getting the majority of the paint off first!!) and I have just been reminded to get them out and put them on a radiator to dry... oops!) We do need to at least go out for milk soon though...

I feel a lot better today. Rested. Not had to rush anywhere. Been doing a "desk" job for a change hehe. And things have been achieved as well - always good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.