Plus ça change...

By SooB

Red Sky at Night...

...Lazy Blipper's delight...

I had every intention of taking a photo of something at the site today - some ancient flaking paintwork, or an interesting window against the blue blue sky... I thought I might get lucky with a great shot of the foggy valleys, or the sun just breaking through to burn off the sun... But somehow work at the site got in the way off all of that, and I was blipless again at sunset. So a lazy stroll to the head of the drive, and I couldn't even summon up the energy to get in the car and drive for two minutes to be the other side of all the cables and farm buildings... But here is, I think, the Pic du Midi. We don't often get a very clear view of it - it is after all quite far away. It was quite close to the other house that we nearly bought - which was nearly finished... And sometimes I look at it and think of a life without mastic and plasterboard, and sigh.

But still, more progress today with getting our kitchen up to scratch (ie, painted), and some brain work trying to figure out which way to mitre cornicing. And Mr B made sausage pasta; and the plumbers have come back with definite dates for getting on with their work; and the carpenters have finally (waiting since July...) come up with quotes for their interior work. Though not dates for doing it. Still, there is progress.

I have been wondering on and off lately about my positive attitude. There's a lot of time for thinking like that when you're painting walls. I don't generally think of myself as a particularly positive person; I think I often have a devil-may-care "oh something will turn up" attitude - because often someone or something else does sort out my problems for me. But this is different - this is a "we/I will sort it out" attitude. And I quite like it. A whole new me.

Let's see if I can apply to areas of my life that don't involve emulsion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.