El Camino

By AndrewForbes

Old heads

This is my first 'back blip', as last night (17th) I posted from my iPhone just after midnight, making my bar scene my Friday Blip. So this is a shot I took on Thursday in Malaga.
I was in the city to see my editor. I walked past the Bishop's Palace, beside the Cathedral (Palacio del Obispo, Málaga) and these busts, displayed in the interior patio caught my eye.
They are still displayed as they first were in May of this year as part of the annual 'Noche en Blanco' (White Night) when the whole city becomes an art festival and all public buildings and galleries are open all night for free. The theme this year was the art as protagonist, so the intricate busts were simply placed on plinths made from old wooden pallets wrapped in plastic, illuminated by tea lights.
(According to the blurb on the wall, these 19th Century terracotta sculptures were made to decorate the town's port custom's house, marking the visit of the King Alfionso XII to Málaga.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.