LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

'Tis but a Scratch!

Managed to get a new ninja this evening, and when I was in Jenners I saw more of the range of baddies, one of which bears more than a passing resemblance to Yoshimitsu from Tekken.

This evening I had rather a baptism of fire as far as PHP curl and Simple XML goes. I had noticed that a bit of my website that pulls bookmarks from del.icio.us had stopped working. Turned out that the newowners had changed the api to return only xml and only over https. So I had to find out about SSL in curl (which turned out to be difficult but ignorable so I took the easy option and forced my code to trust the url without checking the certificate) and then use php to parse the XML instead of using javascript to parse JSON as I had previously been doing.

All in all a very busy evening but full of learning opportunities, spiced with a touch of hair pulling :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.