Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

The Hill

The hill is an upthrust of lava remaining from when this area was  seething with volcanic activity. The ground is very rocky and many of the hills  are really cinder cones.

This is a very foreshortened shot from our deck on the north side of the house. I've taken many shots of this hill. Of historical note this was part of one of the last unfenced pieces of open range in the US; but, as you see, it's criss-crossed with fences now.

I got up this morning with the idea of taking a series of shots as the sun rose after seeing how stunning the sunrise was yesterday; but this morning there was high cloud interfering with the usually steady clear light from the sunrise so I didn't capture the sequence as I'd envisioned. Every day will be another opportunity. This morning gave me the chance to play.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.