Mike's area

By mikeprice

Found It!!!

This an Oil Lamp thingy - never been sure what to call it - that I bought my mother for Christmas many many years ago from a craft fair in Albert Dock, Liverpool. Every year after that she used it at Christmas on the dinner table, and for every dinner party etc etc that she could - especially if she wanted to 'show off' to some friends.

It was the best present I ever gave her in terms of how much she valued it- and probably one of the cheapest!

It was also the most stressfull - getting it home and keeping it (a) safe and (b) secret for several days before the big day (I was living at their house at the time)

Since she died I have had it and as a result have always worried about keeping it in one piece. Over the last 9 months I have lost track of it due to 3 house moves and was worried it was lying in a box somewhere under a heavy box of books.

However, today a lady was coming to pick up a playpen I had in the garage (I love freecycle) and I took the opportunity to investigate the boxes at the back of the garage. I found a 3 that were suspiciously light (naturally under heavy ones - but that is removal people for you) and nervously opened them - in the last one was the lamp!!

All I have to do now is find somewhere that sells the oil!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.