Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Resilience

After listening to the wind, rain and hail in the night and early morning hours, I set out to see if there were any leaves left on the trees. One last chance at the Fall colors, and especially a couple of very beautiful red Maples that I pass by every day. There were many trees that still held bright and beautiful leaves. Lingering just a little longer, until they are replaced by Christmas lights that brighten the dark season, the leaves reflected the limited light and created a lovely pallet to behold against a gray sky.

INTERMISSION: A friend (not pictured here) told me about her 10 year old son, Tyler, today. You have to hear this! Whenever he had asked his mother if there was a real tooth fairy, she had told him the tooth fairy was as real as he believed it to be. Recently, he lost a tooth and asked her to tell him the truth..."are you the tooth fairy?" She was committed to the truth, so she said, "yes, I'm the tooth fairy". In the morning, he awoke and his tooth was still there. When he inquired of her, she said that now that he knows she's the tooth fairy, he doesn't get any more money for his tooth. Soon, he asked her, "mom, tell me the truth, are you....wait!...if I find out you're Santa Claus, will I still get presents?!"

Back to resilience...
I had a nice visit with my friend today (you guessed it, that's her in the photo) and talking with her also made me think of resilience. She is full of faith, has endured the winds and rain of life, and continues to shine bright, reflecting the light from above. Spending time with her always inspires hope and perseverance. I'm glad she's my friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.