Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

WHAT YOU LEAVE BEHIND

When Gordon emigrated 18 years ago, he left some of his precious collection behind and asked me to care for it. One was this tiny scallop, found on the Coral Beach on Skye. It is barely 2cm across. A week ago, he finally became a Canadian citizen. The judge asked him to read out his personal statement to the other 70 new citizens at the ceremony in Saskatoon. Here it is:

WHY I WANT TO BE CANADIAN

A cold night in the prairies, looking up at the night sky in awe
Who would not want to live in Canada?

Driving down a gravel road in fall, seeing the golden fields in harvest time
Who would not want to live in Canada?

The many miles I have walked checking fence lines for farmers
Walking in silence, soaking in the beauty of the prairie
I ask again, who would not want to live in Canada?

You don't have to travel all over the world to enjoy different cultures
They are all here, living in Canada
To taste their food, to learn their language, to know how their homeland calls
I ask again, who would not want to live in Canada?

I take my hat off to the early settlers
Living in tents in minus 40 C, trying to make it on this land
I had it easy. I just jumped on a plane
Canada was waiting for me.

Scotland is fine for holidays, but when my Mum says,
'Are you ready to go back to the prairies, son?
My answer is always, 'Yes!'
My whole adult live has been in Canada and back home they know
I am Canadian.

Thanks for this chance today, to be able to say out loud,
'I am Canadian!

It is a honour and a dream come true!

Gordon David Mackenzie, 9 November 2011

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.