CVB Photos

By cvbphotos

Pollokshaws Baths

This is all that is left of Pollokshaws Baths - a place that I spent a great deal of my childhood. The tiling of the shower rooms can still be seen.

My Saturday morning routine would be to walk down to the baths with my pals, swim (i.e. lark about) for an hour then get dressed (clothes still sticking to me as I never dried properly) and make a bee-line for the drinks machine which doled out a great cup of chicken soup.

We would visit the bakery next door and watch the guy pulling a huge tray of rolls out of the big oven (I would always ask for a "well-fired" roll) before walking on to the newsagents where we would buy chocolate and/or crisps to use as a filling.

The main excitement for me would be to buy the latest "80 Page Giant" Superman comic and I would look forward to lying in bed and reading it when I got home.

For years, the baths were dwarfed by towering high-rises all around but these have now been demolished and replaced by new, pleasant low-rise housing. I would imagine the space where the baths were will be used for housing eventually.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.